Four freshmen win rookie of the year honors

The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) has given four Oswego State athletes Rookie of the Year honors in their respective sports for the 2015 season.

These freshmen recipients include Ariel Murawski of volleyball, Chloe Lonergan of women’s soccer, Dylan McCarthy of cross country and Bernard Osei of men’s soccer, all of whom had standout inaugural seasons.

Murawski, a native of West Lafayette, Indiana, proved to be a rewarding recruit for the Lakers in 2015. She contributed greatly to the team’s attack, collecting a kill total of 326, ranking eight-best in the SUNYAC. The 6-foot-2 freshman also impressed on defense, tallying 53 blocks on the year.

Lonergan was a staple on defense this season, assisting in the Laker’s six shutouts over the course of the season. Her performance on defense helped women’s soccer win its first ever SUNYAC Playoff game in 2015.

McCarthy showed that he is one of the most promising young distance runners in all of Div. III in 2015. The Liverpool, New York, native improved throughout the season and reached personal bests in his 6K and 8K events, finishing within seconds of those times consistently.

Osei was an offensive force in his first year as a forward for men’s soccer, as he led the team in both goals and points. The freshman was also second on the team in shots, shots on goal and assists in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *