Letters to the Editor #2 3/8/13

The Oswego State Men’s ACHA D1 hockey team recently completed its season, advancing to the semi-final game at the NECHL tournament and finishing fourth in the league, out of 10 teams. The league’s annual meeting was held during the Championship Weekend and we are proud to announce that the team received several awards.

Senior goaltender Aaron Frohm was placed on the first all-league team and seniors Greg Molfese and Justin Smith received honorable mention honors. Laker coach, Jay Peacock, was voted as the NECHL Coach of the Year. Academic All-American honors were awarded to eight of our juniors and seniors and one freshman received Academic All-League recognition.

The NECHL is a D1 ACHA league with 10 member schools, including Ithaca, Niagara, Buffalo, St. Bonaventure, RIT, Syracuse, Cornell, Cortland, Binghamton and Ithaca. Canisius will be joining in the fall.

The Player of the Year award is voted on by the coaches of the teams. We are very pleased and honored to announce that Laker goaltender, Aaron Frohm, was named as the NECHL Player of the Year for 2012-2013. Not only did Aaron have exceptional league stats, he also led the nation in shutouts for two months during the season.

There are over 300 hockey players in the NECHL. To be placed on the league’s first, second or honorable mention teams is quite a feat. To be named as the league Player of the Year by the coaches of your peers is a once-in-a-lifetime honor. The coaches said that Aaron is the best player in the league and we totally agree. We are proud that he, along with us, are Lakers. Congratulations.

-The coaches and players of the Oswego State ACHA D1 hockey team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *